Review: The Raid 2

Gareth Evans knows his kungfu.  Gareth Evans was very meticulous with the use of whooshes in the film each time a fist or foot or head connected with another body part. Whoosh.  Whoosh.  That made the kungfu more kungfu-ey.  It looked like the actors and kungfu people were really in love with the way they moved, that it looked like a supremely choreographed dance, more than a dirty brawl.  That’s good.

I don’t have much to say of the plot, it’s very Takeshi Kitano in its gangster trappings.  That means to say it’s very Asian gangster-y, though am not sure why there had to be Japanese yakuza in Indonesia but I guess Gareth Evans knows more about that than I do anyway.  I like that there were colorful assassins for our main hero to beat up, including a chick in shades wielding two unwieldy hammers – and that final fight – that is worth the ticket admission alone.  By the way, there’s gratuitous violence.  I also like that Gareth Evans was also messing about with the framing and composition of his shots, some looked dope.  Pushing his capabilities is good.

The Raid 2 is a different beast from The Raid.  Didn’t get me overly giddy with excitement and thrill as the first one did, and the plodding story bits just made me want for it to get on to the next fight scene, and the next.  But it is still one of the best kungfu movies ever.  If I was hosting a cool hang out at my cool home one cool night with some cool friends, I might turn to them and say “Hey, wanna’ see a cool action movie?”  They’d be a bit bored of the story bits, but they’d ooh and ahh with the fighting.

Like I said, Gareth Evans knows his kungfu.

Talky talk

